Amber.S.'s Blog

WEEK 2

Posted on: July 21, 2009

Hi there, I have decided to post weekly to my progress. I have done quite a lot this week. I have been working on my website.

Firstly, I have made a blue banner, encorporacting the wmin logo. Making it the right size took time as well as trying to find a good match with my website title theme, which is also light blue

 Untitled base

 

Now just uploading the picture, i just thought why not outline the banner in the same red colour as the wmin logo?! i love experimenting and trying out different things and ways, though it does take a bit of time.

 

 

Secondly,I have been going through the wmin biosciences website and gathering bits of information on making my department pages and the home page.

I have shown an example of going into the Department of Biomedical Sciences, and extracting its home page information. I have also gone on each of the staff members individual info. I copied and pasted all the contacts one by one on notebook and transferred them onto my website. I changed the colour blue for the contacts and white for the email addresses. I did the same for the other two departments.

I also tried to look for a picture of all the staff members in one photo, but there arent any avaliable. On the website there are individual staff images, but most staff members dont have one, I didnt put any pictures on for the sake of consistency. I would have liked to have department pictures, something that portrays the department etc. I didnt what to use google images as Westminster would have many things to show off in the departments and would be good to use as pictures. As i cant find any pictures like this, I found 3 pictures of the Cavendish builiding from different angles, this would be okay to use, short term wise, until I can find pictures more relevant to the page. The cavendish building picture should really be on the home page.

 

Thirdly when i went out to london i took a few pictures of the houses of parliament, big ben, westminster bridge and the london eye.  I also took our tourist attraction pictures from the internet. I hope to add more pictures to the collection on the slide show I have made. I first made a video of the collages i made with background music. http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/amb.shafi/Videos#5360538747552939554

I have also made a PINDAX noticeboard on the annoucements. I have put in the recent wmin accouncements I get via email on the board.

Lastly, I have made a timetable for Pharmacology and physiology over the next three years,. I like this much better than have bullet points of the module. I will also like to include the way you may be assessed in each module (MCQs, in class essay etc) and the first and second semester modules. I also am working on making the timetable for other degrees. This is taking time as I have to plan this; i have to categorise the modules and understand where they should go as well as producing the timetable.

Its been fun developing all this! When i develop when idea i get other ideas i want to make into the website:)

 

 

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Cathy: Hi Amber Hope all is well with you. Just to let you know we have just 3 'show & tell' sessions - last one is on Wednesday September 30th. All th
  • amberdagp: The very first picture on the top wa meant to be under ' Here is what i have achieved as a whole so far:'
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

